On the subject of religion

In the past few months, I’ve been increasingly interested in the push towards militant atheism–that is, the out-spoken “preaching” of atheism and its argument over religion. YouTube hosts an incredible collection of debates between such atheists as Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens (among others) and their religious counterparts.

In listening to these debates, there would occasionally be an audience favorite or “winner” of the debate, but I don’t know how many were “turned” toward the others view.

10 years ago, I wrote a parable called The Scholar and the Priest. It argued that religion exists because it relies on faith, so science can never properly counter it. Science argues for reason–something entirely lacking in true faith.

Tonight, I watched my first clip of Francis Collins, a devoted Christian who is head of the National Institutes of Health. I don’t agree with his reason for a conversion from atheism to Christianity, nor do I support his argument. What I am interested in is his idea that God exists outside of nature (an argument countless theists make to explain how the “Creator” did not need a creator). Science is the study of nature. Therefore, science can never extend itself outside of the physicality of nature and into the supernatural.

Exactly what I thought ten years ago.

Of course, I don’t believe in the supernatural and I don’t believe in God, nor do I think there’s any reason whatsoever to think there is anything outside of nature.

The reason I’m interested in this, is I’d like to approach another novel. I have my themes and setting in place and I know a little of the characters all ready. It’s going to require more thought on this “outside of nature” idea though and my belief that if God were ever to manifest itself in the natural world, all belief in it would cease.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the subject of religion

  1. check out this debate:

    You can find proof of god, or a creator in science. You have to have more faith in believing there is not a god. The bible is a great resource for historical accounts, but the evidence for god is all around us. I don’t understand how some can believe everything here came to be by a random series of events. It takes a lot of faith to believe that our perfect system, laws of physics, human mind, architecture of our body and animals, and language all happened by accident. It’s obviously designed. Look at a leaf under a microscope, or anything for that matter, it sometimes creates a clearer picture.

Leave a Reply

