Exploring a new area of Daegu

Sometimes I feel a little guilty for having lived in Daegu for the past year and a half and rarely exploring whats outside of my neighborhood or other hot spots I tend to frequent in the city (ie. downtown). There’s several buses serving my immediate area, and why don’t I ever spend a Saturday or Sunday, hop aboard one, and ride it to the end of the route and explore more? One reason I keep giving myself is: I don’t really think there’s much to distinguish between different neighborhoods in this city. It’s not like I expect the bus to deliver me somewhere that doesn’t have kimbap restaurants, karaoke rooms, or hair salons always within sight.

Well, last Sunday, my girlfriend and I decided to try out Hami Mami’s brunch restaurant, near Camp Walker. I’d never been to the camp before, so we just took a taxi there. Finding the restaurant was easy enough, especially after Hyerin spotted it, jumping up and down in the cab shouting: “Hami Mamis! Hami Mamis!”

Hyerin LOVES brunch restaurants and is always thinking there should be more in Daegu. We spent a good amount of time waiting, a good amount of time eating, and a good amount of money at Butterfingers brunch restaurant in Seoul. We were both surprised with how there were more Koreans at Hami Mami’s than westerners. We thought for sure, being literally right at the main gate of the US Army base, it would be full of western families over Koreans. Pleased to see that it wasn’t.

After that, we left to get a quick photo op in front of the main gate, just a simple pic of Hyerin posing with the sign. Shortly after, the camp security informed us not to take pictures.

Anyway. The point of this, is to show the route that Hyerin and I walked back home on, because it was through an entirely new neighborhood for the first half. Once we joined the Sincheong River, it became familiar territory, as I have a penchant for jogging at the river after work.

 

This was about 2 miles to my house. Or about 3.2 km. The weather in Daegu is still fantastic this time of year. Something that can’t be said of my hometown in Colorado, which has suffered its first snowfall of the year already.

Chalk another one up for living in South Korea.

This entry was posted in Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

